If you are under the age of 21 in the State of Pennsylvania, being convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI) is a serious offense that could have several ramifications that could leave a lasting impression on your life. Permanent Record DUI convictions when you are considered a minor in the State of Pennsylvania is something that will not go away after five or ten years. It is not something that can be "swept under the rug" or buried. It stays attached to your permanent record which can prevent you from finding future employment. You could even face long term effects on your auto insurance rates and other life costs. Out Of State Offenders Pennsylvania college students under the age of 21, who have an out of state driver's license or Pennsylvania driver's license holders attending college out of state, could face complicated situations when convicted of a DUI. This is due to the fact that they may face sanctions in both their home state and the state where they are attending college. Blood Alcohol Content DUI guidelines for minors in Pennsylvania are more strict. For an adult to be charged or convicted of a DUI, their blood alcohol content (BAC) needs to be a minimum of .08. For a minor to be charged or convicted of a DUI, their BAC needs only a minimum of .02. Field Sobriety & Chemical Tests During a traffic stop where an officer may administer field sobriety tests, a minor in the State of Pennsylvania who refuses to take a chemical test to determine BAC faces a one year driver's license suspension and the requirement that they attach an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). A second or third refusal to take chemical tests in future traffic stops will result in a driver's license suspension for 18 months and having to use an IID during the period in which they are driving with a restricted license. Pennsylvania DUI Tiered Penalty System Minors convicted of DUI in the State of Pennsylvania face a tiered penalty system. Simply having a BAC of over 0.00 gets minors an automatic charge of underage drinking, where if convicted, they face a minimum penalty of $500 for the first offense. A second underage drinking offense comes with a maximum penalty of $1,000. First DUI offense for an underage minor in the State of Pennsylvania mean?
• No jail time
• Fines and penalties of $300
• No driver's license suspension Second DUI offense for underage minors in the State of Pennsylvania?
• Five days to six months in jail
• Fines and penalties from $300 to $2,500
• Driver's license suspension for 12 months Third DUI offense for underage minors in the State of Pennsylvania?
• Ten days to two years in jail
• Fines and penalties from $500 to $5,000
• Driver's license suspension for 12 months If you are convicted of underage drinking in Pennsylvania, don't hesitate to contact an attorney to fight for your rights.
Pennsylvania UnderAge Drinking Driving Laws, Penalties and Fines