If you’ve been cited for passing a school bus when the red lights were on, or any other school bus violation, you should seek advice from an experienced traffic defense lawyer. Conviction of a school bus violation can result in a fine, points on your driving record and a 60 day license suspension.
In Pennsylvania, it is illegal to pass a school bus when the red lights are on and the arm is out. You must stop when you meet or overtake a school bus with its lights flashing. You must stop when you approach an intersection where a school bus is stopped. You must stop at least 10 feet away from the bus, wait until the lights stop flashing and all children have cleared the roadway before moving.
If you are cited for a school bus passing violation, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) will automatically issue a 60 day license suspension. You also face a $250.00 fine and 5 point on your driving record.
A PennDOT drivers’ license suspension is an administrative action. It is separate from all traffic court proceedings and many of my clients are taken by surprise when they receive a letter from PennDOT notifying them of their license suspension.
If you have received an order of suspension from PennDot notifying you that your Pennsylvania driving privileges are to be suspended for passing a school bus you also must know that this order can be rescinded or overturned by an experienced Pennsylvania School Bus Violation lawyer. It is worth the time and effort.
If you have received a suspension letter from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, contact an attorney immediately. We serve all of southeastern Pennsylvania including Montgomery, Chester, Delaware, Bucks, and Philadelphia Counties.
Call Basil Beck at 610-239-8870.